turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

2022 I am a resident alien(H1B) and my wife is on H4. She will be on F1 later at end of next year which is around November 2023

2022 I am a resident alien(H1B) and my wife is on H4. She will be on F1 later at end of next year which is around November 2023. I am paying for her tuition fee and I have the following question.

• For the upcoming tax return year can I raise as jointly and do I need an ITIN number for my wife
  • In my W4 form I have chosen single, shall I leave it as it is or choose as the head of household as I am the only person earning right now(no children) or choose as "married filing jointly" though my wife is not earing right now.
  • When my wife changes the status to F1 and gets a job that will lead her to SSN do I have to cancel the ITIN number if she acquires one?
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
pk
Level 15
Level 15

2022 I am a resident alien(H1B) and my wife is on H4. She will be on F1 later at end of next year which is around November 2023

@nikeshv ,  As  I understand the situation here :

(a) you are H1-B and having met the Substantial Presence Test are considered  Resident  for Tax Purposes.  Taxed by the US on your world income.

(b) your wife is on dependent visa H-4 and thus also considered  a Resident for Tax purposes.