turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

christoph

I'm an H1B resident alien and worked in the US all 2016. My wife worked in Canada in 2016 but moved to the US in Sept. When filing jointly, is she a resident alien?

I am an H1B worker and have been since April 2014, so I pass the substantial presence test.

However, my wife and I were married in August 2016, and she moved to the US in September 2016. She did not work in the US in 2016, but did work in Canada.

Can we:

1. File jointly?

2. Have her treated as a resident alien if we include a statement wishing to be treated as such?

3. Report her worldwide income? Will she be taxed on this in Canada as well as the US? It seems that the US and Canada have a taxation treaty preventing this.

Thanks!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

8 Replies

I'm an H1B resident alien and worked in the US all 2016. My wife worked in Canada in 2016 but moved to the US in Sept. When filing jointly, is she a resident alien?

Because you pass the substantial presence test, you are a "resident alien" for US tax purposes.

If you elect to have her treated as a resident alien (attaching a statement, etc.) 

• You must file jointly this year (the first year you make the election)
  • Both of you are taxed on worldwide income

You would report her Canadian income and she will be taxed on this income for US purposes but you can claim a "foreign income tax" deduction or "foreign income tax credit" for her income.

For more information about claiming foreign tax deduction vs foreign tax credit:

https://ttlc.intuit.com/questions/1901623-where-do-i-enter-the-foreign-tax-credit-form-1116-or-deduc...