Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

jporter2023
Returning Member

New York Convenience of Employer Rule

My employer is based in New York. The employer hires a California based CPEO to handle payroll, taxes and benefits. I received a W-2 from the CPEO rather than my employer. I am a Colorado resident who works remotely. I’ve never set foot in New York for work.

I understand there is a convenience of employer rule in New York. It means that a non-New York resident who works for a New York based employer is responsible for New York state income tax.

My question: am I still subject to this rule when the employer that issued the W-2 is in fact a California based CPEO? To me, the CPEO seems to be my employer for tax purposes.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

5 Replies

Your employer is in CA  not NY  so the NY rules have nothing to do with you.

It's not clear to me if you are a legal employee of the NY company, or if you are an employee of the CPEO and your services are contacted through the CPEO for the NY business.  Is your contract with the NY business or the CPEO?  

If you are a legal employee of the CPEO, the convenience of the employer rule does not apply.  If you are an employee of the NY business, read on.  (However, if you physically worked in NY state for any period of time, such as training or orientation, that is going to be considered NY-source income and you will file a non-resident NY return.  This is part 3 below.)