turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I've had four jobs in 2017, two of which I earned less than $1,000 from (I only worked for a few weeks), so which W-2 forms do I need to submit? All four?

Out of the four jobs, two jobs I quit after just a couple weeks and only received one or two paychecks from. The other two jobs I worked at for several months. Do I have to get all four of my W-2 forms? Or just the two from which I earned substantial income? Would putting all four jobs down hurt my chances of getting a higher tax return or improve them? (I'm a college student and thus, a member of the lower class if that affects anything). 
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

I've had four jobs in 2017, two of which I earned less than $1,000 from (I only worked for a few weeks), so which W-2 forms do I need to submit? All four?

You have to report ALL your income no matter how small.  Even $1 of bank interest you don't get a 1099Int for.  The IRS gets copies of all your W2s and will be expecting to see them on your return or they will send you a letter.

View solution in original post

6 Replies

You have to report ALL your income no matter how small.  Even $1 of bank interest you don't get a 1099Int for.  The IRS gets copies of all your W2s and will be expecting to see them on your return or they will send you a letter.

What if the two jobs were I only worked for a few weeks don't have W-2 forms for me? How can I report my income from them? Bank statements?