turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

stankoga

I am employed full time, but also am an independent contractor. How do I file taxes as an independent contractor

I work full time as a firefighter. I recently began working as an uber driver and wish to file my estimated taxes quarterly. What is the best way to do this? I will not be itemizing expenses/deductions..I will be taking the .57 cent mileage credit. 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

5 Replies

I am employed full time, but also am an independent contractor. How do I file taxes as an independent contractor

Tax Tips for Uber, Lyft, Sidecar and other Car Sharing Drivers FAQ
 https://turbotax.intuit.com/tax-tools/tax-tips/Self-Employment-Taxes/Tax-Tips-for-Uber--Lyft--Sideca...

Here is some reading material……

IRS information on Self Employment….
http://www.irs.gov/Businesses/Small-Businesses-&-Self-Employed/Self-Employed-Individuals-Tax-Center

Pulication 334, Tax Guide for Small Business
http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/p334.pdf

Publication 535 Business Expenses
http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/p535.pdf