turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

javisar

I am an international student and I live, with my wife and son with our parents in law while studying, and this last year while working on OPT. Are we their dependents?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

4 Replies
KurtL1
Expert Alumni

I am an international student and I live, with my wife and son with our parents in law while studying, and this last year while working on OPT. Are we their dependents?

The "Parents" can claim you and your family as dependents if:

• If you all lived with the "Parents" for the entire year;
  • You or your wife earned less than $4,200;
  • The parents paid over 1/2 of your support; and
  • No one else can claim you or your family on a return.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"
javisar

Thanks for your response. So, we live with them. Therefore, we don't have to pay a rent, but I worked like the middle of 2019, earning something more than 10.000 during the year. Can they still claim us as dependent?, they made it the last year, when we didn't earn anything.

JotikaT2
Employee Tax Expert

No.

Since you made more than $10,000 during 2019, then they cannot claim you.

As mentioned by KAlehnhardt2 above, you cannot earn more than $4,200 during the year.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"
Carl
Level 15

As mentioned by KAlehnhardt2 above, you cannot earn more than $4,200 during the year.