turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

wifi2966

I am a contractor as 1099. How do I file in TurboTax Home & Business

I need to file my personal taxes and my 1099 independent contractor. I work under a company as a independent contractor I don’t own the company. I want to be able to claim my mileage from last year and other deductions. When I use this software it’s wanting to treat it like I own the business but I’m just an independent contractor. How do I accomplish this in TurboTax Home& Business 2019

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
MinhT1
Expert Alumni

As an independent contractor, you are self-employed and are considered by the IRS as operating a small business doing what you doing such as electrician, photographer, etc...

You can use TurboTax Home & Business to file your tax return.

When TurboTax refers to your business, it means your small business, and not the company you are working for.

Please read this TurboTax article for more information.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

View solution in original post

3 Replies
MinhT1
Expert Alumni

As an independent contractor, you are self-employed and are considered by the IRS as operating a small business doing what you doing such as electrician, photographer, etc...

You can use TurboTax Home & Business to file your tax return.

When TurboTax refers to your business, it means your small business, and not the company you are working for.

Please read this TurboTax article for more information.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post