Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

How to report graduate student stipend/fellowship and claim tax treaty?

Hello all,

I am an international PhD student (not a candidate yet) and need some help.

Last year, I received both a taxable stipend (W-2, not more than $10,000) and a nontaxable fellowship (1099-MISC). I put the information from W-2, seems no problem. And I followed the following steps from @DaveF1006's reply so that it is not reported as self-employed income. I also put both federal and state income tax withheld (box 4 and 15) to get a refund of withholding.

1. Federal>income and expenses
2. Other common income>Form 1099-MISC>start or revisit
3. Fill in your 1099 Misc information including the amount in box 3
4. Describe the reason for this 1099-MISC Give it a brief description
5. Does one of these uncommon situations apply? if it is part of a research study you can check that otherwise say none
6. Next it asks Did the fellowship involve work that's like XXX main job. You will probably say no.
7. then it asks How often did Brad get income for fellowship? You will answer this question according to your circumstance
8. Now this is important.  it asks if Did the fellowship involve an intent to earn money? if you say yes, then you will need to pay self-employment tax. If you didn't expect to benefit financially, then you will say no. Follow your heart. - I said no
9. If you paid federal income tax and if it is reported on the form, when you enter your 1099 MISC, there will be a check box that you will check indicating has other information in boxes 1-18.  You will enter the federal income tax withheld in Box 4 and the State income tax withheld in Box 16 along with the remainder of the state information in Boxes 17-18.