turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

How to Report Graduate Student Stipend in TurboTax

Hi All,

I've seen similar situations to this asked here but I haven't found any straightforward answers.  I'm a first year PhD student who got a Form 1099-MISC from my school reporting income from my non-compensatory stipend in box 3.  I also had set up both federal and state withholding and that is shown on the form.  Separate to my stipend, I also have full tuition and fee scholarships that were awarded by the school but they do not issue PhD students 1098-T's to show this.  How exactly am I supposed to report the fellowship income in TurboTax as well as the scholarships? From what I've seen so far it seems to keep treating information from the form when I enter it in as self-employment income as if I own a business, but this can't be the way I'm supposed to report this?

Thanks so much for any help!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

31 Replies
KathrynG3
Expert Alumni

Report the income in Less Common Income. Regarding the scholarship, begin in the Deductions & Credits area under Education, in the same area as the 1098-T is reported. Answer No, that you did not receive it. Capture all your details here pertaining to the scholarship. Congratulations on your acceptance into the program!

For the 1099-MISC:

1. From the left menu, select Federal
  2. Wages & Income scroll all the way down to Less Common Income and click Show More
  3. Select the last listed option for Miscellaneous Income 1099-A, 1099-C, click Start
  4. Next, select the last listed option Other Reportable Income
  5. Did you receive any other taxable income, click Yes