Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Do I have to report a second W-2 form in which there is no wage shown in Box1 and has only $40 state wage? (international student)

Hi! I am an international student in Connecticut and I have received two W-2 forms. One W-2 form (and 1042-S form) is from the college I am studying at and shows no wages in Box 1 (blank), with only the state wage in Box 16 showing up (around $40) and "Other .20" showing up in Box 14. I also received a second W-2 form for my internship work for last summer, this time showing the wages in Box 1 (under $10,000), the federal tax withheld at that moment (13.4% from my income), and state tax withheld as well (4.13% from the income). Making the calculations, I received as a paycheck for my internship the net income represented by the gross income declared in the W-2 form minus the tax withheld showing up on the W-2 form (I actually received $40 less than what it's declared in the form/they withheld more taxes, but I don't know if that's for another reason). I am filing right now the taxes for the W-2 form for my internship (with the higher income). My question is whether I must also file the other W-2 form received from the college, which has a small income,  blank Box 1, and is under treaty exempt. I tried to add the second W-2 form as well electronically along with the internship W-2 form, but it prompted a message that Box 1 shouldn't be blank and if it is, then I can't e-file that form. If I only report the W-2 form from my internship and omit this one from the college, will that negatively impact me? Do I have to somehow report the second W-2 form as well in another format? Thank you!

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer