turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Can't get TurboTax 2023 will not launch - "Shortcut cannot be accessed"

The program will install on my computer, with the "launch" icon on the startup screen. BUT -- when I try to run a pop-up screen appears.  Explorer.EXE  with a Large Red box white X icon "The item referred to by this shortcut cannot be accessed. You may not have the appropriate permissions."

With the CD it didn't get to the point of restarting and asking for my license code.  Thinking it was a licensing problem. I uninstalled the program. I then went online downloaded the program from my TT account with the same license code.   Same error issue! 

I am the administrator, and sole user of this computer.  I've been installing from the TT Advantage CD for many years, never any issues.  Same computer used as in 2022.  

I spent hours on two separate occasions with TT support.  TT told me I should try Geek Squad support as they saw I had that icon on my home page.  Geek Squad support tried for 90 minutes or so to address the issue.  Geek Squad support (level 2) told me it was a Turbotax issue that others have reported a similar problem. 

Anybody else having a similar problem? 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

19 Replies
CatinaT1
Expert Alumni

Were you able to solve your issue?

If not, please call TurboTax Customer service.  Here is a link:  Turbo Tax Customer Service 

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

I have not resolved this problem... please can you help restore my faith in Intuit!   Are you available now?

John Crossley

[phone number removed]

CatinaT1
Expert Alumni