Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Ask the Experts All About the Refund! >> Event happening NOW!!!!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Can I claim my child as a dependent if I earn $0?

My spouse is a nonresident alien and so won't file US taxes, but is the sole earner of the household.

When I file my US taxes (I am a permanent resident), I will enter $0 as income, as I do not work. My question is that since we have a US citizen child, can I claim the child as a dependent on mine even though I'm not earning?

She isn't being claimed on anyone else's return. My goal is to obtain the stimulus check for both me and my child by filing a 1040 (married filing separately or head of household) with $0 income and a reform rebate credit.

Thank you for your time.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
DanaB27
Expert Alumni

Yes, you can claim your child as a dependent if all of these requirements are met:

Qualifying child

• They're related to you.
  • They aren't claimed as a dependent by someone else.
  • They're a U.S. citizen, resident alien, national, or a Canadian or Mexican resident.
  • They aren’t filing a joint return with their spouse.
  • They're under the age of 19 (or 24 for full-time students).
    • No age limit for permanently and totally disabled children.
  • They lived with you for more than half the year.
  • They didn't provide more than half of their own support for the year.

Yes, you can file your return to claim the Recovery Rebate Credit without any income. To claim the Recovery Rebate Credit in TurboTax, please follow these steps:

1. Log into TurboTax.