turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Can a parent claim me under the following circumstances?

Can a parent claim me as a dependent if I provide more than half of my own support? I filled out my taxes with the box checked that someone was going to claim me but I also selected the box that I provided more than half of my own support. I am ok with this person claiming me on their taxes since I live with them but selected that I was paying for more than half of my living expenses. Is this going to create an issue? I am a college student under 24 and make somewhere around 10,000 dollars a year. I live at home since most of my money goes into college but pay for all of my other expenses personally. Do I need to make an amendment of some kind? 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

No, if a child provides more than half of their own support a parent cannot claim them. However, your expenses include things like food, lodging, clothes, medical, insurance, vehicles, etc.  So, depending on the rest of the scenario (ex. how much your parents make and the lifestyle they provide for you, utility bills, mortgage/rent, etc) be sure you are including those things in the calculation as to whether you are paying over half of your support or not.

When you selected that you paid more than half of your own support, the program should have determined that you were not a dependent and would not be claimed by someone else.. If this is what happened, then if the other person goes to claim you as a dependent their return will get rejected.  If they filed first, and you are not a dependent, then your return would be rejected.