turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

kunmi011

1.Does the glacier tax prep help me calculate how much I am getting from the IRS OR how much I am paying in Tax?

I’m an F-1 student and I used glacier tax prep to file my return(as provided by the sch) and sent the paper copy by mail to AUSTIN, TX already. But here is the thing, I just found out I am to get more as refund. Which brings me to this questions;

1.       Does the glacier tax prep help me calculate how much I am getting from the IRS OR how much I am paying in Tax?
2.       If it’s the former, since I am supposed to get more as payment, what do I do next to rectify the error please?
3. Can Turbotax help me fix this?

Thanks in anticipation of a quick response.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

1.Does the glacier tax prep help me calculate how much I am getting from the IRS OR how much I am paying in Tax?

As a student on an F-1 Visa you are required to file form 1040-NR (non-resident).  Turbotax does not support this form.

Looking at the form on the IRS web site, your income is calculated on page 1, and your taxes and payments are calculated on page 2. Any refund or amount owed is shown on line 72-75.  If you print a copy of your return you should be able to read it and follow the math. https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/f1040nr.pdf

View solution in original post

2 Replies

As a student on an F-1 Visa you are required to file form 1040-NR (non-resident).  Turbotax does not support this form.