Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Where Is The Section 179 Deduction Part In Self-Employed?

Hello-

I am a contractor who works in sales, and I'm attempting to finish my taxes for 2021.  Last September, I bought a new truck by taking a loan out.  I have signed up for TurboTax Self-Employed, and I'm wanting to take the Section 179 Deduction for the vehicle.

However, I'm stumped.  I can't find where I can put this info in on Self-Employed.  There's a part that asks me about a carry-over for 2020 or something.  But I can't find where I'm supposed to put in the value of my vehicle and claim the Section 179 deduction as it is a business asset.

Can you please help me?  Thank you in advance!

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

I wanted to let you all know that I figured out where in the process one must go to file the Section 179 Deduction for a vehicle in the TurboTax Self-Employed walk-through process:

Indeed, it is in the income section after you create your section for self-employed income.  However, it doesn't just pop-up naturally as you go through the "Vehicle" section because apparently it's based off the job you choose.  If I chose "Truck Driver", it would pop up, but I chose "Sales" since that's what my job is, and it doesn't naturally come about when you choose this.  And even though I am a travelling salesman and consultant, the program didn't ask me to specify.