turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I am a teacher in rural Alaska and live in teacher housing. Where on turbotax do I put my deduction for forced housing?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

9 Replies

I am a teacher in rural Alaska and live in teacher housing. Where on turbotax do I put my deduction for forced housing?

There is no tax deduction for employer provided housing for teachers.  Per IRC 119(d)

Provided the teacher pays “adequate rent,” IRC §119(d) may provide the teacher a partial exclusion from income of employer-provided qualified campus housing. “Adequate rent” is defined as the lesser of 1) five percent of the fair market value of the employer-provided housing or 2) the average rental paid to the educational institution by individuals not affiliated with the institution for lodging that is comparable to that provided to the teacher.  If the teacher does not pay adequate rent for the housing, he/she receives additional wage income computed by subtracting the rent paid from the amount determined to be adequate rent. 

I am attaching a document that addresses this issue.  see page 3 and 4 for examples.

Hello, I'm also a teacher living in bush Alaska in forced housing owned by the school district. Where do I find the appraised value of my rental housing?

Your best bet for finding an appraisal value for something of this nature is to use "comparable rates", which basically is what the housing rental price would be on the "open market".