turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

ndhill
Returning Member

Solar Tax Credit - Errors in TurboTax 2020

Hi, TurboTax is wrong for 2020 Residential Energy Efficient Property Credit. The software states that the credit is 30% of a homeowner's cost, but it should be 26% in 2020. Also, TurboTax tells me that this is a nonrefundable credit (i.e. no refund if greater than my tax liability), but it is actively calculating a HUGE federal refund, which is not right (I am a licensed CPA). Can TurboTax address these errors?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

5 Replies
JoannaB2
Expert Alumni

Yes, The residential energy credit (form 5695) allows you to deduct 26% (30% in 2019) of the cost of installing solar energy system from your federal taxes.  It is non-refundable and is used to lower your tax liability, If zero tax, credit will be carryforward to the next year/s.

The form may not be updated in Turbo Tax yet or not finalized by the IRS.

ndhill
Returning Member

Thanks, but TT is calculating the credit as a refundable credit - it is adding over $8,000 to my refund which is wrong. Will there be a fix or do I have to manually update this? Others might trust this and then make an unknown error to their returns. 

DaveF1006
Expert Alumni

Yes, I agree and I really don't know how this can happen. This is difficult to try to diagnose on this level since we are unable to view your tax return.  My suggestion is to contact Tax Support at 1-800-446-8848 as they have the ability to look at your screen or order a diagnostic copy of your return to troubleshoot the issue.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post