turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

postdoc

How to enter 1042-S in Turbotax Deluxe?

I'm a postdoc, on F1 Visa (STEM extension). I received a 1042-S & am a resident for tax purposes (have been in the US since 2010; no tax treaty exemption). Could you provide instructions on how to report the 1042-S (Income code 16) and D-40 ES (for DC) in the Turbotax Deluxe online system?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

19 Replies
LinaJ2018
Intuit Alumni

To record your tax withholdings, in TurboTax online program, please use these steps:

1.  Sign back into the program and select Take me to my return 

2.  At the right upper corner, in the search box, type in estimates paid and Enter

3.  Select Jump to estimates paid

4. On the screen, Estimates and Other Income Taxes Paid, select the right section to enter information 

LinaJ2018
Intuit Alumni

As a resident alien on a F-visa, by receiving a Form 1042- S with the code 16, you will treat it as receiving a scholarship or fellowship to offset your qualified education expenses if there are any.  Per IRS, you are required to file a Form 1040 to report your scholarship amount along with your tuition. In the TurboTax program, you would first enter the information under the Federal section, the data would be transferred over to the State section.  Please do revisit the interview questions under the State to verify you do not miss any possible credits and deductions.  

To enter information, please follow these steps:

In TurboTax online edition, 

1. After sign into your account and select Take me to my return 

2.  At the right upper corner, in the search box, type in 1098t and Enter 

3.  Select Jump to form 1098T