turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Stimulas

Hello, I’ve been claiming my daughter on my taxes since 2016. My daughter did not receive her 1st and 2nd stimulas but she received the 3rd. I was not able to claim that when I filed my taxes. Also, my daughter will be turning 6 on the 23rd of July. I filed single, made less than $75,000 so why didn’t I qualify for the child tax credit

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
tsmeadow
Employee Tax Expert

Stimulas

Hello Dawn,

First, regarding the first and second stimulus payments, you should have been able to claim those payments as a Recovery Rebate Credit on your 2020 Federal return.   If your daughter qualifies as a dependent, you should have received $500 for the first stimulus payment and $600 for the second stimulus for your daughter.  Since you did not receive the two stimulus payments, I would recommend amending your 2020 return to receive both credits. 

Instructions to Amend using Turbotax Online:

1. Sign in to your Turbotax account

2. On the Tax Home Screen scroll down to your 2020 Return information. 

3. Under the 2020 return information, there should be an option to Amend/Change the Return.  Click that option and click Amend using Turbotax Online.  

4. Turbotax Online will ask why you are amending.  You can explain you are amending to add the Recovery Rebate Credit.