turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I'm a contractor. i buy lunches for the crew of my sub contractor a couple of days a week so they don't have to leave the job site. can i deduct this expense?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

7 Replies

I'm a contractor. i buy lunches for the crew of my sub contractor a couple of days a week so they don't have to leave the job site. can i deduct this expense?

It appears yes you may. See the test below.

Employer-provided meals are tax-free to the employee and 100% deductible by the employer if they are provided:

• on the employer’s business premises, and
  • for the convenience of the employer.

If more than half of your employees to whom you furnish meals satisfy these requirements, you can treat all meals you furnish to employees on your business premises as furnished for your convenience.

The employer’s business premises generally means the location where employees work.

An employer also has a substantial business reason to provide free meals if the nature of the business makes it necessary to limit meal periods to short time periods, such as 30-45 minutes, and workers can't eat somewhere else in such a short time.

De Minimis Meals

You can take a deduction for any meal you provide to an employee if it has so little value that accounting for it would be unreasonable or impracticable. Examples of de minimis meals include:

• coffee, doughnuts, or soft drinks
  • occasional meals or meal money that enable an employee to work overtime, or
  • occasional parties or picnics for employees and their guests.