Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I was effected by the Federal declared Ice storm in Texas in Feb. I am new at this one. I’m trying to understand the correct figures to put in.

I was thinking the FMV would be the price on my city tax appraised value?  And the FMV after would be the value of  all damages excluding deduductible from insurance?
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies

I was effected by the Federal declared Ice storm in Texas in Feb. I am new at this one. I’m trying to understand the correct figures to put in.

So my figures are 

purchase price of house:   $820,000

State appraised value:        $910000

Total Damage to house and belongings:      $320,000

Insurance paid:                                                   $300,000

Within the $320,000 was furniture damage of. $100,000 (insurance paid)

For practical purposes, you probably don’t have anything to deduct, and may in fact have a taxable gain.  

The tax law surrounding casualty losses is a bit tricky. Your loss is not technically your cost to repair, your loss is technically the loss in fair market value of the property due to the storm damage. This would require a real estate appraisal before and after the storm. The tax value is probably not the true market value, it is rarely true market value in most jurisdictions.