Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I'm a resident of a foreign country

When I go to the foreign tax credit section, it only shows me the small dividend paid to an unrelated different foreign country (this foreign country's tax was on my brokerage form)?
Thank you!!!
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
ToddL99
Expert Alumni

If you are using TurboTax Premier online,  type "foreign tax credit" in the search box, and select "jump to foreign tax credit" from the search results. In each of the following screens, answer the questions carefully and you will be able to report the foreign taxes paid on your foreign stock sales.

(I have filled in your selections as far as I went; just select "Continue" to proceed).

View solution in original post

6 Replies

If you are a resident of a foreign country and a US citizen, then yes, you should be filing a US tax return.  If you received a form from a brokerage firm with a small dividend paid to a different country, that is normal because it has to do with the fund in your portfolio and not the country that you live in.  Many US companies have investments overseas.

Hey Renee and thanks so much for following up!

I'm aware that I need to file a US return. My issue is not paying the same tax twice. So since I am already paying a 25% capital gains tax tot he foreign country, which is higher than the U.S. capital gains rate, I need to indicate somewhere within turbo tax that I made this payment, so it will be credited towards my U.S. tax liability.