Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

eretzrob

How do I avoid getting an error on form 8889-T line 1?

I graduated from college in 2017 (was a full time time student) and started a full time job in the Fall, so my parents provided more than half of my support and will be claiming me as a dependent. I was covered by a family HDHP for 8 months and my own HDHP for 4.  I (not my employer) contributed some money to my HSA which is on my W2 with code W.  Due to this combination I am getting an error on form 8889-T line 1 whether I enter Self or Family. What do I do?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

7 Replies
beeb2012

This form has me in an endless loop. Any info I put in is wrong and I can't file
mroynan

I have the same situation!  I'm filing for my daughter who graduated.  I cannot file because this form keeps giving me an error.  I did the recommended answer and it does NOT work!
mroynan

I had to put family in line 1 and None for each month to get out of it.
bkaleri

Same problem - filing for my daughter and the recommended answer does NOT work.  Even called help line - nothing works!  I believe this is a programming error, but phone help recommended requesting a corrected W-2 (employer is considering, but doesn't think this is appropriate).  Please fix this!  The instructions for Form 8889 do not say you have to check line 1 to use the form, but you must file for such situations (excess contributions by employer, etc).
mestretar

Putting family in line 1 and "none" for each month somehow made it work. Thank you for that suggestion.