Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

I am a day trader and I am trying to file my taxes to claim the active trader espenses like margin interest, home office, & purchase of computer. need help

yes. this is good one. i have this one studied several times. per this one, dividends and interest should enter sch B ( personal income) instead of Sch C .

I am a day trader and I am trying to file my taxes to claim the active trader espenses like margin interest, home office, & purchase of computer. need help

I'm in a similar pickle. All of my income from trading has already been reported in other places: importing forms from TDA Ameritrade and listing my profits under "Cryptocurrencies."  Now, I show zero income on Schedule C, but $10,000 in expenses. I can't use all of my home office expenses because that schedule C shows zero income. I made about $50K trading, but spent $10K and want to report it all as expenses. How can I move my income/profits to schedule C?

You don't need to move income to sched C.  All you need to do for home office expense is to input details instead of using the default/simple calculation

Sorry for my slowness, but I'm not sure what that means.  Just list all of my trading expenses, including home office, on schedule C showing a 100% loss? With no income?  And the income gets listed on Schedule D? Thanks for your help.

@billyriggs A link to a relevant article has already been posted in this thread (reproduced below). Scroll down to the bottom to Exhibit 1.

Sec. 475 Mark-to-Market Election (thetaxadviser.com)

Correct - no income on Schedule C, only expenses.  Gain on Schedule D.