turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

How do I answer the question "Was any of the scholarship income not designated to pay 2019 education expenses"? I'm beyond confused about my 1098-T

I apologize for the confusion in advance.

I graduated from college in May 2019, and upon looking at my 1098-T, my scholarship of $49,877 (box 5) exceeds the payments received for qualified tuition and related expenses of $46,343 (box 1). However, there was an adjustment of $20,915 made to my scholarship for a prior year (box 4).

Upon looking at my Spring 2019 bills, I only owed $25,914 in tuition and fees, and I was only awarded $28,962 (thus roughly $3,000 went directly to me for room and board). So it seems like the information on my 1098-T is taking into account a scholarship from Fall 2018.

How do I answer the question "Was any of the scholarship income not designated to pay 2019 education expenses"? If my 1098-T says my school received $46,343 and I was awarded $49,877, it doesn't make sense to say that $20,915 was not designated for 2019 education expenses. What I was actually awarded in 2019 is not truly reflected on my 1098-T. I understand that if what I was awarded was $20,000 more than what was owed in 2019, I would say $20,000 was not used for 2019, but box 1 clearly shows that my school received most of what I was awarded. Can I assume all of what I was awarded was for 2019 education purposes?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

9 Replies
AmyC
Employee Tax Expert

How do I answer the question "Was any of the scholarship income not designated to pay 2019 education expenses"? I'm beyond confused about my 1098-T