Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

Filed as a dependent by mistake! (Stimulus Check?)

I am just a bit confused, I looked at the 2019 Publication 501 Dependents Wasn't able to determine if I should amend as independent, I turned 24 in 2019 does that mean I am a independent even though I still live with my parents and I was a full time student 

@nooreddin wrote:

I am just a bit confused, I looked at the 2019 Publication 501 Dependents Wasn't able to determine if I should amend as independent, I turned 24 in 2019 does that mean I am a independent even though I still live with my parents and I was a full time student 

Since you were 24 in 2019 being a full time student is no longer relevant.  You can now only be claimed as a dependent under the Qualifying Relative rules.  Those QR rules state that if you had gross income of $4,200 or more then no one can claim you as a dependent.  Otherwise, review the rules to see if you can be claimed by your parents.

To be a Qualifying Relative -

1. The person cannot be your qualifying child or the qualifying child of any other taxpayer. A child is not the qualifying child of any other taxpayer if the child's parent (or any other person for whom the child is defined as a qualifying child) is not required to file an income tax return or files an income tax return only to get a refund on income tax withheld.
2. The person either (a) must be related to you or (b) must live with you all year as a member of your household.
3. The person's gross income for the year must be less than $4,200 (social security does not count) in 2019
4. You must provide more than half of the person's total support for the year.