turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

As an independent contractor I meet with clients in their home; however, I complete all paperwork in my home office. Do I qualify for the home office deduction?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies

As an independent contractor I meet with clients in their home; however, I complete all paperwork in my home office. Do I qualify for the home office deduction?

There are two basic requirements for the taxpayer's home to qualify as a deduction:

• There must be exclusive use of a portion of the home for conducting business on a regular basis. For example, a taxpayer who uses an extra room to run their business can take a home office deduction only for that extra room so long as it is used both regularly and exclusively in the business.
  • The home must be the taxpayer's principal place of business. A taxpayer can also meet this requirement if administrative or management activities are conducted at the home and there is no other location to perform these duties. Therefore, someone who conducts business outside of their home but also uses their home to conduct business may still qualify for a home office deduction.

If you work at many job sites and don't have a permanent job site (or one lasting more than a year), and you use your home for your administrative functions (billing, appointments, making calls, etc.) then your home can qualify as your main place of work.  See page 3-5 here. https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/p587.pdf

Then, you also have to meet the regular and exclusive rules to take the home office deduction. 

Carl
Level 15

The program asks you two basic questions, which I"m not repeating here, but will try and explain.