Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Being an international student (F1), will I pass the substantial presence test and be able to apply as US resident (for tax purpose) for 2016?

I'm an international student (F1) arrived in the United States on 08-28-2012. I have not changed the immigration status since my arrival in the United States. I was using sprintax until last year. I'm curious to know if I can apply as a US resident for tax purpose or wait until next year?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
LinaJ2018
Intuit Alumni

Being an international student (F1), will I pass the substantial presence test and be able to apply as US resident (for tax purpose) for 2016?

As a F-1 visa holder, you are considered as "exempt" meaning not counting days for five years starting from the date of your first arrival in the United States.  After the five years period, you will start counting days by using the Substantial Presence Test  to see if you qualify to be treated as a US resident for tax purposes.

In your situation, you are considered as a nonresident from 2012-2016 filing a Form 1040NR.  Starting from 01/01/2017, you will start counting your days.  If you meet the Substantial Presence Test in 2017, you will be considered a US resident for tax purposes and file a Form 1040 for your tax year of 2017

For more examples, see :https://www.irs.gov/individuals/international-taxpayers/alien-residency-examples

View solution in original post

19 Replies
LinaJ2018
Intuit Alumni