Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I am a mechanic I have individual receipts for every tool I have purchased to do my job the asset page doesn't apply to most of them. the expenses doesn't give a category for tools even though i put the proper term for my job title which is Automotive Tec

How to I list out everything individually for my tool expenditures?
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

8 Replies

I am a mechanic I have individual receipts for every tool I have purchased to do my job the asset page doesn't apply to most of them. the expenses doesn't give a category for tools even though i put the proper term for my job title which is Automotive Tec

Just total them up, enter in the other deductions and call it Tools.

Where can I find the "other deductions" section?

Are you filling out a Schedule C or Form 206?

Where is the other deductions section?

I haven't the slightest. Basically I am employed by an Automotive repair facility. However to perform my job I am require to purchase my own tools. In 2016 I spent over $2016.56 on one tool truck and a lot on another. I only made $25000 last year and spent a decent percentage just to be able to perform my job

In order to claim this expense, you have to first itemize deductions. At your level of income, I would guess you are claiming the standard deduction. If you do itemize, the tools are employee business expenses and only deductible to the extent they exceed 2% of your income.
But I think your standard deduction will be higher than itemized and you should use the standard deduction.