Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

radwsch
Returning Member

I am a full-time student and am eligible to be claimed as a dependent by my parents. Can I claim an Am Opp Credit on my return if my parents do not claim me as a dependent?

This question is a trade-off between a $500 child credit on my parents' return v. a larger App Opp Credit on the my return.  I have found conflicting advice on this question.  Page 20 of Pub 970 states,  "If you . . . don't claim on your tax return a dependent who is an eligible student (even if entitled to claim the dependent), THEN only . . . the dependent can claim the American opportunity credit.  You can't claim the credit based on this dependent's expenses."   Also, the flowchart on page 13 asks the question "Are you listed as a dependent on another person's tax return?"  It does not as "Are you eligible to be listed as a dependent on another's return?"

To the contrary, it seems clear than for Personal Exemptions (back when they were relevant), someone who is eligible to be claimed as a dependent on another's return could not claim a personal exemption for themselves.

Any thoughts?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

6 Replies
JillS56
Expert Alumni

I am a full-time student and am eligible to be claimed as a dependent by my parents. Can I claim an Am Opp Credit on my return if my parents do not claim me as a dependent?

If you are claimed on your parent's return, you cannot claim the 1098-T for the AOTC credit.   Depending on your parent's income level, they can report the 1098-T on their return and if eligible get the education credit.