Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Ask the Experts All About the Refund! >> Event happening NOW!!!!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

mytheresa

Can F1 studnt VISA holder file as resident alien in the first 5 years?

Hi there, I am an international student from China who just graduated in May 2017. After graduation, I started working under my F1-OPT status. Can I choose NOT to file form 8843 and DO count days I stay in U.S so that qualify myself as a resident alien when file tax return? Thank you for your help! 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
DS30

No - you cannot choose to claim the days you are exempt from the substantial presence test under the F-1 visa class in order to file as a resident alien.

However, if you are a Nonresident Alien who will become a Resident Alien under the Substantial Presence test in the year following this taxable year, you may elect to be treated as a Dual Status Alien for this taxable year and a Resident Alien for the next taxable year if you meet certain tests. Refer to the First Year Choice area, under Dual-Status Aliens, of Chapter 1 in Publication 519, U.S. Tax Guide for Aliens.

View solution in original post

5 Replies
DS30

No - you cannot choose to claim the days you are exempt from the substantial presence test under the F-1 visa class in order to file as a resident alien.