Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Why does it duplicate state wages and income tax?

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

9 Replies
DanielV01
Expert Alumni

If your state is either NJ or PA, this is common and can be adjusted.  Please clarify your state return.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

TurboTax is asking me to identify "duplicate wages" on a W-2 that includes both NY and NJ wages and taxes withheld. The wages, almost $16,000, are the same within $44. They are for the same job (acting) that was worked in NJ. I am a full-time NY resident. In this context, what does "duplicate" mean?

LenaH
Employee Tax Expert

On your nonresident New Jersey return, duplicate wages would be the amount for New York in Box 16 of your W-2. Therefore, please check the box for the NY state wage amount on the page Let's Confirm Your Taxable State Wages. I have attached a screenshot below for additional guidance. 

It is important to note that New Jersey state wages are often higher than federal or New York wages because New Jersey taxes some benefits that the federal government and New York do not. 

@hughmorg62042

I bulled my way thru the NJ return by getting TurboTax to zero my NJ income. This included telling TT that my NJ wages were a duplicate of my NY wages (within $44). (This point was my original hangup, my reason for my question here. I wound up with $0 NJ wages and income on my NJ1040-NR return. This enabled me to get all $689 of my withheld NJ taxes refunded. All of my wages from this and other W-2 jobs and my self-employed business income were taxed by the Feds and by NY.