turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

JCongdon

State Taxes in Kentucky for Non-Resident

I am a wisconsin resident working for a company in Kentucky.   My residence is Kentucky.   I am paying state income taxes in Wisconsin.   In filing with Turbo Tax I attempted to complete filing with Non-Resident Reciprocal state as WI is a reciprocal state.  I continues to give me an error that I must file a standard 740-NP form in Kentucky.  When I do this I am charged for Kentucky State income tax.  I assume this is in error that I should not be paying state income tax in both states when living in WI, but working in KY.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Replies
TomD8
Level 15

<<"My residence is Kentucky.">>

How long did you live in Kentucky?  Kentucky tax law is that reciprocity does not apply to persons who live in Kentucky for more than 183 days during the tax year.

See Page 4, https://revenue.ky.gov/Forms/740-NP%202017%20Kentucky%20Individual%20Income%20Tax%20Form%20Packet%20...

**Answers are correct to the best of my ability but do not constitute tax or legal advice.
DavidD66
Expert Alumni

You have to File Form 740-NPR if you are a resident of a reciprocal state: Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Ohio, Virginia, West Virginia and Wisconsin AND you had Kentucky income tax withheld and had no other income from Kentucky sources.  

If you submitted the Exemption 42A809 to your employer, and did not have any Kentucky State tax withheld, then you do not need to file a Kentucky tax return.  If you did have Kentucky tax withheld, then you must file Form 740-NP-R,  Kentucky Income Tax Return, Nonresident–Reciprocal State to receive a refund.