turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

SS benefits are shown as taxable income in Ohio where I am a non-resident but also in Georgia where I am a full-time resident. Why are these benefits taxable in Ohio?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

4 Replies
MichaelDC

SS benefits are shown as taxable income in Ohio where I am a non-resident but also in Georgia where I am a full-time resident. Why are these benefits taxable in Ohio?

Ohio Retirement Tax Friendliness. Social Security retirement benefits are fully exempt from state income taxes in Ohio. Any income from retirement accounts (like a 401(k) or an IRA) or pensions is taxed as regular income (but there are credits available).

Social security benefits, if taxable on the federal return, are deducted on Ohio schedule A. This happens automatically, in TurboTax, and you do not need to do anything.

Take care to enter it in the Federal Taxes according to these instructions:
https://ttlc.intuit.com/replies/4767455

Hal_Al
Level 15

SS benefits are not taxable in Ohio. You've done something wrong. The exclusion of SS benefits is so automatic, in TurboTax, that I'm having a hard time seeing how the mistake could be made. You may need to start over.

A possible explanation, you some how included SS on the retirement income allocation screens. Look a Ohio form IT NRC.