turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

IDWMaster
Returning Member

Minnesota resident working in California for most of the year, employer withheld and reported to CA until just recently

I'm in a bit of a weird tax situation, at the beginning of the year until just recently, I (from a tax point of view) did the following:

* Every weekday I would (virtually) fly from Minnesota to my office in California where I worked (not a real flight, but from my company's tax records this is how it was being withheld/reported)

* At the end of each day I'd (virtually) fly back to my home in MN.

* I'm a resident of MN and still owe MN taxes for the time I was working in CA as MN taxes out-of-state income, subjecting me to double-taxation for this period.

I owed taxes to both CA and MN during this time, as CA viewed me as physically working there (and taxes were withheld to CA), but I was underwithheld for Minnesota as my company wasn't withholding there (so will likely owe a significant penalty to MN)

Now, they corrected my withholding, so from a tax standpoint I:

* Stopped working in CA

* Am now working and living in MN

* Am a resident of MN

* Do I still owe taxes to CA for this period through the end of the tax year? Or do I only owe taxes to MN now?

To further complicate things, my company has RSUs (restricted stock units) which are taxable at vesting time in the state of CA.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

15 Replies
TomD8
Level 15

Minnesota resident working in California for most of the year, employer withheld and reported to CA until just recently