Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Splash88799
Returning Member

Double taxed in a reciprocal state

I work in both PA & WV which are reciprocal states. I am a full year resident of PA. However, I was double taxed in both states. WV only took out state taxes but PA took out state abs local. First, do I need to file taxes in both states or can I just file the double tax form in PA and get the credit. Also on the double tax form for “gross” row 1 (this is where I assume I put my gross wages from WV) and “gross” row 2 (this is where I assume I put all my wages for both states. Then the last line in row 1 “taxes owed” is this where I put the amount of state taxes WV took? And in row 2 is this where I put the amount of taxed PA took? If so, do I add both the state and local together? Also, in the beginning of the program it told me that I needed to file 2 tax returns for both states but that WV should be a “nonresident with special considerations” but the program won’t let me move forward with this box checked even though the program checked it to begin with. Any help is appreciated I am going crazy searching article after article and nothing relates to my special topic of working in both a resident and nonresident state. One last note; I am owed a return in my resident state before adding in what they took from the nonresident state. I did not know I was supposed to fill out a form so this didn’t happen. Last year the program told me I didn’t need to file a return in that state but they took money so I am assuming I am owed money from last year as well but I will figure that out after this. 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?