Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Do I have to pay Oregon income tax if i live in CO and travel to OR and WA for work?

I am a resident of Colorado that is married/files jointly.  My wife works in CO. 

I am taking a job with a company headquartered in Portland, OR but has offices around OR and WA.  Other than me, they will not have a presence in CO.

I have a couple of questions.

If my company does CO withholding on my salary, do I need to file OR income tax and pay them income tax for the # of days I work in OR?  (OR income tax is almost double CO income tax).

If yes, am I able to get back the CO income tax I paid for those days to avoid double taxation when I file my return?

If I work in WA for some days, am I also able to reduce CO income tax for the days in WA (even though WA has no income tax)?

On the flip side, if they withhold OR income tax for all my earnings, when I file tax return in OR , am I able to get a refund for all the days I worked outside of OR (in either WA or CO)? Or only the days I worked in CO and have to pay CO tax?

Likewise when I file my CO income tax, do I only need to pay taxes on the days I worked in CO or since I am a CO resident do I need to pay taxes on any amounts that are not taxed by another state?

Thanks for your time on a convoluted issued. I haven't accepted the job yet and trying to understand the impact to my income taxes to make sure I don't wind up making less money at this new job.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Replies

Do I have to pay Oregon income tax if i live in CO and travel to OR and WA for work?