turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

taufmannw

Can I claim a Health Savings Account deduction in Illinois even though I'm a non resident?

turbo tax includes a health savings account deduction for the state of Illinois in which I am not a resident, but required to file.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

Can I claim a Health Savings Account deduction in Illinois even though I'm a non resident?

Are you talking about the line 24 entry for health savings account deduction on Schedule NR? Is your question whether or not to put that amount in the Illinois column (I assume that it carried from the federal return to the federal column)?

Based on what I read in the Schedule NR instructions, my answer would be "yes". Please read on.

In reading the instructions for the Schedule NR, it appears that for line 24, you are to copy the amount in Column A (federal) over to Column B.

You will note that many lines have instructions on how to calculate the amount to allocate to Illinois - notice in the instructions the "Self-employment decimal for Lines 26, 27, and 28" immediately after line 24. 

But for other lines - like Line 30 Alimony - the instructions just say, "Enter the amount of alimony you paid during the tax year as shown in Column A. "

Since the instructions from line 24 state baldly "Enter the amount of health savings account deduction you claimed this year as shown in Column A" with no discussion of prorating, I take that to mean, "yes, you can claim the deduction".

View solution in original post

13 Replies