Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

California Deductibility of Property Tax for Home in Virginia

I am a California resident who inherited a home and vehicle in Virginia. Can I deduct the real estate taxes for the Virginia home on my California tax return? Can I do the same for the personal property taxes for the Virginia car?

The FTB states “California does allow deductions for your real estate tax and vehicle license fees”, but I wasn’t sure if that applied to homes/cars outside of California.

https://www.ftb.ca.gov/about-ftb/newsroom/tax-news/march-2019/tax-deduction.html

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

5 Replies
JulieS
Employee Tax Expert

Yes, California does allow a deduction for real estate tax and vehicle license fees. 

Click here to learn more.

[Edited 01/03/22 | 3:20 PST} 

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

Hi Julie, thank you for your quick response. The instructions for Line 5a that you posted mention only income taxes. I don't see property tax mentioned. I could not find instructions for Line 5b that covers real estate taxes or 5c that covers personal property taxes. Thanks again, Will D.

Additional Info: There is a long-running thread on TurboTax's handling of the deductibility of Virginia's automobile personal property tax at the following link. I'm not sure a consensus was reached but many users were confused on how/whether this deduction is allowed and how to enter it.