turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

CA -> Nevada State Income Tax Filing for next year's tax filings.

I was a student in Illinois earlier this year, then went to California for a period before coming down to Nevada and earning income there. I filed resident CA state tax last year, and have a CA drivers license. Is it possible to declare NV residency for when I file my taxes for 2020 in 2021? If so, does this mean I do not have to file any State tax in 2021 as NV does not require it? Please let me know if I can provide any addition information that would be telling. 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

14 Replies

A piece of information you left out-----did you work and receive income in IL or CA in 2020?

**Disclaimer: Every effort has been made to offer the most correct information possible. The poster disclaims any legal responsibility for the accuracy of the information that is contained in this post.**
TomD8
Level 15

You cannot just "declare" residency.  States have specific rules as to who is and is not a resident for tax purposes.

In what state is your domicile - your main, primary home?  the place you intend to return after temporary absences?

**Answers are correct to the best of my ability but do not constitute tax or legal advice.

Thank you for the question. I did not work or receive income in IL or CA in 2020. However, I do hold bank accounts in CA which distribute dividends/interest. The only work and income I have in 2020 is sourced from where I currently live in NV. That is a big reason why I suspect I may qualify for NV residency and not file any state income tax returns. Hope that helps.