turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

1099 NEC from different state

I am a freelance translator and reside in Texas. I received a 1099-NEC from Indiana as I do freelance translations for clients in Indiana. All work is done through email. Do I need to file an Indiana State Tax return?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

6 Replies
LeonardS
Expert Alumni

No, you do not have to file an Indiana State tax return.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

Thank you. 

I just found this and was wondering if the answer would still be the same.

"

• If you were a full-year nonresident of Indiana, but received any income from Indiana sources, you must file your Indiana income taxes.

Full-year nonresidents who received income from Indiana sources must file an Indiana individual
income tax return (Form IT-40PNR). They are subject to tax on that part of their total federal
income that is derived from or connected with Indiana sources.

Income received from Indiana sources is considered Indiana income to nonresidents, except certain
types of Indiana source income subject to tax only by the taxpayer’s state of legal residence.
Interest, dividends, royalties, and gains from the sale of capital assets are subject to tax only by the
taxpayer’s state of legal residence unless such income results from the conduct of a trade or
business in Indiana. If a trade or business is conducted in Indiana, the income should be reported
as Indiana income"