turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Is there a way to get the California Stimulus if I had made $45 income as an independent tutor in 2020?

I have never done my taxes before because I was considered a non-filer, making no income, with last year making only $45 as an independent contractor, so filing taxes is all new to me.

Initially I thought I was able to receive the california stimulus because it said you needed to make less than $75,000, but I never knew that this meant making at least $1. When I filed for my taxes for 2020, I didn't report any income because technically I didn't make anything, and didn't think $45 as an independent tutor was worth filing. I continued filing my taxes by adding tuition and expenses information assuming that would allow me to file my taxes, and the IRS having 2020 taxes on file.  

Now, knowing that I had too had made at least $1 as income, I was wondering if there is any way to amend my tax return in order to provide the $45 income, but don't know how.

I also came across an article saying that if you have no taxable income, but still want to file your taxes, you can  file a $1 interest income under the interest income form in order to file a return. Is this applicable to my situation? Would doing so allow me to finally be eligible to for the 2020 Golden State Stimulus?

I wouldn't be going through all this trouble if I wasn't in dire need of aid.

Thank you

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Reply

Is there a way to get the California Stimulus if I had made $45 income as an independent tutor in 2020?