Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Ask the Experts All About the Refund! >> Event happening NOW!!!!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

rtom911r

I am a resident of NY and have rental income in Vermont. Do I have to do a Vermont return?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Reply
DS30

I am a resident of NY and have rental income in Vermont. Do I have to do a Vermont return?

It depends but if you have VT rental income and meet the VT nonresident filing requirements then you will need to file a VT nonresident state income tax return.

According to the VT Department of Revenue, if you were not a resident of Vermont for the full tax year but earned income in Vermont, then your income on rents and royalties from ownership of property located in Vermont will need to be included on a Vermont state income tax return as long as you are required to included this income as part of your federal adjusted gross income.

When calculating income from VT sources, if the result is net income of more than $100 or gross income (income before any losses) of more than $1,000, then you must file a Vermont income tax return.

You will also need to include this VT rental income on your NY resident state tax return. You will get a state income tax credit in NY for any VT state income taxes that you paid on your nonresident VT state income tax return.