Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

yevgof

How to claim a PA local taxes refund for NJ resident from previous year (2016)?

I am a resident of NJ, but worked in PA in 2016; and local tax was charged according to my W2. I forgot to enter tax credit for tax paid to another state in 2016. Is there any possible ways to get refund of PA local taxes?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
maglib
Level 11

If there were local taxes withheld you can file an amended 2016 NJ state return to claim the credit only for local taxes, not state taxes withheld (No PA state taxes should be withheld).

The Reciprocal Personal Income Tax Agreement between Pennsylvania and New Jersey means compensation paid to New Jersey residents employed in Pennsylvania is not subject to Pennsylvania income tax. Therefore, you cannot claim a credit on Schedule A for taxes paid to Pennsylvania on those earnings. New Jersey residents can claim a credit for taxes paid to Pennsylvania on other types of income (for example, business income) that are taxable in both states by completing Schedule A.

The New Jersey/Pennsylvania Reciprocal Agreement does not apply to income or wage tax imposed and collected by the City of Philadelphia or any other municipality in Pennsylvania. That means a New Jersey resident who works in Philadelphia and pays city wage taxes can claim a credit for the taxes paid to Philadelphia.

Do note there will NOT be a full refund as PA and NJ taxes are computed differently and you only get a credit on double taxed income.

To amend a NJ state return. see comment link.

**I don't work for TT. Just trying to help. All the best.