turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

truk711

First half of 2016 I was unemployed and lived in DE. Second half of 2016 I move to PA and was employed in PA. Do I need to file 2016 DE State taxes?

First half of 2016 I was unemployed and lived in DE. Second half of 2016 I move to PA and was employed in PA. Do I need to file 2016 DE State taxes (given that I was a part-year resident and had income in 2016 even though I didnt earn while a resident of DE)?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
TomD8
Level 15

First half of 2016 I was unemployed and lived in DE. Second half of 2016 I move to PA and was employed in PA. Do I need to file 2016 DE State taxes?

Did you receive unemployment benefits in Delaware?  If you had income from any source (including unemployment benefits) while a part-year resident of Delaware, you must file a Delaware tax return.

**Answers are correct to the best of my ability but do not constitute tax or legal advice.

View solution in original post

7 Replies
TomD8
Level 15

Did you receive unemployment benefits in Delaware?  If you had income from any source (including unemployment benefits) while a part-year resident of Delaware, you must file a Delaware tax return.

**Answers are correct to the best of my ability but do not constitute tax or legal advice.
truk711

I was a full time student in DE with no income while there.
TomD8
Level 15

Then you don't need to file a DE return.
truk711

THanks!

Yes if u had income u still have to file
truk711

Even if all of my 2016 income was from after I moved to PA?

No you file 2016 because you didnt work but after you moved to PA and worked you can file in that state