Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Can I be a resident of one state and work in another?

I am a permanent resident of Texas, but I took a position in a different department within the same company that has me working out of Arizona. I rent a room in Arizona but do not plan to live here permanently. Should I do my federal taxes with my Texas address or the Arizona address? And is it correct that I should file my state taxes as a non-resident?
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

7 Replies

Yes, if you still consider yourself a Texas resident and are there for work, you would file a nonresident return for the income that you earned in Arizona.  You can use whichever address where you get your mail.

Most states in the United States define “residency” based on a person’s “domicile.”  Domicile, in general, is the place which an individual intends to be his or her permanent home and to which such individual intends to return whenever absent.

An individual can only have one domicile at a time.  Once a person acquires a domicile, he/she retains that domicile until another is acquired.  A change of domicile requires: 1) abandonment of a prior domicile, 2) physically moving to and residing in the new locality, and 3) intent to remain in the new locality permanently or indefinitely.  If a person moves to a new location but intends to stay there only a limited time (no matter how long), their domicile does not change.