turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

If I am a self-employed consultant in OK to previous employer in CA, do i list all self-employment income on CA tax return as "from a CA source while a non-resident"?

"self-employment income from California sources while non-resident of California." 

I moved from California to OK in August 2017. I worked as a self-employed consultant in OK providing services to my previous employer in CA. I received a 1099-Misc from them with my income listed in box 7, nonemployee compensation. Do i need to list all my self-employment income on my CA tax return as "from a CA source", or since my consulting business and residence is in OK, do i answer this question with a zero? Thank you for your help. 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

If I am a self-employed consultant in OK to previous employer in CA, do i list all self-employment income on CA tax return as "from a CA source while a non-resident"?

Since your consulting business is in OK, you will not list this income on your CA return, it would only be listed on your OK return. Income as a non-resident from CA sources would be income received while traveling to CA but living outside of the state.  So if you traveled to your employer's locations while living in OK, that specific income would be taxed by CA.  If you worked 100% from OK after you moved then it would only be included on your OK return. 

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

View solution in original post

5 Replies