turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

kcarn21

I am a new York state resident and my state pension should not be taxed on my state return and yet Turbo Tax shows it as taxed. Any thoughts?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
PhyllisG

I am a new York state resident and my state pension should not be taxed on my state return and yet Turbo Tax shows it as taxed. Any thoughts?

New York does not tax Social Security pensions. However, all other pensions including private pensions are excluded from taxation up to $20,000.  In other words, if your pension is $40,000 then $20,000 of it is taxable.

View solution in original post

38 Replies
PhyllisG

New York does not tax Social Security pensions. However, all other pensions including private pensions are excluded from taxation up to $20,000.  In other words, if your pension is $40,000 then $20,000 of it is taxable.

gs42

NYS does not tax NYS pensions of retirees.  Every year, I have a problem with the Turbotax form. This year also.

DMarkM1
Employee Tax Expert

First did the 1099-R have a NY State distribution amount shown on the form and you entered that amount into TurboTax?  That of course is the source of the income showing in the NY interview. 

Next, be sure that when you entered the 1099-R for the NY pension you selected a NY source for the distribution in the follow on questions.  You should get the opportunity to put a "zero" in the NY distribution box in a follow on question there.