turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

I am a day trader. How, exactly, do I report my investment income ($50,000 in losses, actually) into TurboTax, so that I can capitalize on the full range of deductions?

Form 8829:

Untitled.png

I am a day trader. How, exactly, do I report my investment income ($50,000 in losses, actually) into TurboTax, so that I can capitalize on the full range of deductions?

@cboizauer 

So, was I correct, by enter fake trade on Sch D?

@tagteam how else do you suggest differently?

I am using home office deduction for my office. My business use % is 10%. then calculated all expenses such as

(internet, water, gas, utility) X 10% and entered it as Other Expenses on Sch C

@stech wrote:

@tagteam how else do you suggest differently?

Did you read my previous two posts? I outlined the procedure, which results in a net loss on Schedule C (and that, in turn, is reported on Schedule 1 and then automatically transferred to your 1040).

@tagteam  Yes, I read it. 

Lets assume, I have $26,920 profit per 1099-B with $2,387 expenses, and $2K home office deduction. 

On Sch C, I entered, $2,387 expenses. Then Form 8829, Line 8, shows $24,533 ($26,920 from Other income including Schedule D and Form 4797 C1 - $2,387 expenses ).

My Sch C, Line 31, Net profit or (loss) has -$4,387? Did I miss something?

Line 8, on 1040 is also -$4,387

I didn't see any adjustment to calc'ed gain on 8829 as per your screenshot. Its for 2020 taxes, looks similar to Form 8829 screenshot 

@stech wrote:

My Sch C, Line 31, Net profit or (loss) has -$4,387? Did I miss something?

Line 8, on 1040 is also -$4,387