turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

MarilynG1
Expert Alumni

I am a day trader. How, exactly, do I report my investment income ($50,000 in losses, actually) into TurboTax, so that I can capitalize on the full range of deductions?

@arweiden If you aren't able to deduct Home Office Expenses in a given year due to no business income, the amount does carry over to be used in another year, as long as the Actual Expense method is used. 

Unless you have another business location, be sure to indicate in the Home Office interview that 100% of your business income is earned there.

Click this link for more info on .Home Office Expenses

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

I am a day trader. How, exactly, do I report my investment income ($50,000 in losses, actually) into TurboTax, so that I can capitalize on the full range of deductions?

Did you mean literally have a negative linke on sch C after you enter the expense in order to carry the number to sch D;

For example, you expense many items on sch C coming out to 10K, and just create a separate line make the name like "sch C moving to sch D amount" (or something in this nature) , and put a negative number -10K.

and putting the 10K expense on sch D?

Is that what you meant? Thanks for clarifying it 

This totally makes sense. One more further question to you: how many years have you been doing it this way and did the IRS ever come back to you questioning about the method or like they were not clear about the approach? 

Expenses on schedule C . 

total expenses : 10k